Child protection committee formed

8 Mar 2006
The Irish News

Bishop of Derry Dr Seamus Hegarty has established a new committee to oversee child protection in the diocese.

The committee has been established in accordance with new Church guidelines, ムOur Children, Our Churchメ, arising out of the Ferns sex abuse scandal.

It also follows the disclosure last October by Dr Hegarty that approximately 40 allegations of child sex abuse were made against 26 priests in the Derry diocese in the last 50 years.

The members of the new Derry child protection committee are Fr John Forbes from Coleraine and Fr Sean McKenna, from Creggan parish with lay members, Therese Ferry, Eddie OメKane, Dr Mary Jenkins, Anne McGarvey, Tom Harkin and Joseph Mallon.

A spokesman for the bishop said the committee members bring experience from education, psychology, counselling, parish ministry and law to their new roles.

He said the committee was voluntary and, while appointed by the bishop, would work independently.

Anyone seeking information about the new committee should contact Anne McGarvey at the Derry diocesan pastoral centre at 028 7136 2475.

Tom Maguire and Mary Bradley are to become child protection trainers.

Similar resources